Hello, Goodbye: 75 Rituals for Times of Loss, Celebration, and Change (Paperback)

Hello, Goodbye: 75 Rituals for Times of Loss, Celebration, and Change By Day Schildkret, Elena Brower (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Day Schildkret, Elena Brower (Foreword by)
$19.99
Not Yet Published

Description


Embrace the power of ritual with simple yet “powerful” (Kim Chestney, author of Radical Intuition and founder of IntuitionLab) practices that slow us down to honor and mark the real moments in our lives—from the loss of a parent to the birth of a child, from grieving a pet to celebrating coming out of the closet.

Life has many transitions: A baby is born. A child leaves for college. A marriage. A divorce. A death. We all experience moments of profound change, but what do we do to mark those moments? How do we become mindful of these events and imbue them with purpose and meaning? Could our lives be better, richer, and more resilient if we had more practical resources and rituals to honor, sanctify, and make sense of these transitions?

Day Schildkret, artist and author behind the international Morning Altars movement, believes that what we need is ritual. Rituals are the rhythms and traditions that give us a sense of stability in the face of uncertainty by reminding us that there’s always something we can do, say or make that conjures awe, contentment, and gratitude. They give us a way to acknowledge through our actions that, as life changes, we too must change.

Offering ways to make these moments special and sacred, Hello, Goodbye teaches you to not fear uncertainty, but instead participate fully and creatively in life’s inevitable changes, including:
-Birth of a child
-Moving and new homes
-Divorce
-Empty nesting
-Retirement
-Death anniversary
-Health crises

Containing over 75 hands-on ritual instructions, informed by hundreds of interviews, and filled with beautiful illustrations, inspirational story-telling, potent questions, and experienced wisdom, Hello, Goodbye is “certain to become a forever reference and treasured, faithful companion” (Kimbery Ann Johnson, author of Call of the Wild and The Fourth Trimester) for life’s many milestones, perfect for those looking to find meaning in change and embrace the transformative thresholds of our lives.

Hello, Goodbye is a “direct and moving” (Rabbi Jill Jammer, PhD, author of The Jewish Book of Days: A Companion for All Seasons) guide we all need to navigate life’s uncertainties with grace, meaning, and intention, perfect for fans of Krista Tippet, Priya Parker, and Elena Brower.

About the Author


Day Schildkret is internationally known for Morning Altars and has inspired tens of thousands of people of all ages across the globe to be awed with impermanent earth art. Both Day and Morning Altars have been featured in BuzzFeedVICEVOX, Spirituality & Health Magazine, and on NBC and CBS’s affiliate stations. Day is the author of Morning Altars: A 7-Step Practice to Nourish Your Spirit through Nature, Art and Ritual, and Hello, Goodbye.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781982170943
ISBN-10: 1982170948
Publisher: S&S/Simon Element
Publication Date: January 3rd, 2023
Pages: 464
Language: English