The Land of Forgotten Girls Lib/E (Compact Disc)

The Land of Forgotten Girls Lib/E Cover Image
Email or call for price
Special Order

Description


In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Mu oz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."



Product Details
ISBN: 9781504696104
ISBN-10: 1504696107
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 1st, 2016
Language: English