The Lucky Thirteen: The Winners of America's Triple Crown of Horse Racing (Paperback)

The Lucky Thirteen: The Winners of America's Triple Crown of Horse Racing By Edward Bowen Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


In more than a century of American Thoroughbred racing, only thirteen horses have won the Triple Crown--the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. Veteran turf writer and racing historian Edward L. Bowen takes us through the rich history of one of the most formidable and exciting challenges in all of sport. Bowen covers the trainers, owners, and jockeys who etched their names into the annals of thoroughbred racing, and the "lucky thirteen" who captured all three jewels of the Triple Crown, horse racing's most prestigious prize.

About the Author

Edward L. Bowen is the author of twenty-one books on Thoroughbred racing history. He was a staff member of the weekly trade publication The Blood Horse for some thirty years, including seventeen as managing editor and five as editor-in-chief. He was also editor of The Canadian Horse for two years. Bowen served as president of the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation from 1994 through 2018. Bowen has received various honors within the world of Thoroughbred and sports journalism and authorship, including an Eclipse Award for magazine writing, the Charles Engelhard Award from the Kentucky Thoroughbred Association, the Old Hilltop Award from Pimlico Race Course, the Walter Haight Award from the National Turf Writers Association, and the gold medal designation in Foreword's sports category. He resides in Versailles, KY.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781493059355
ISBN-10: 1493059351
Publisher: Lyons Press
Publication Date: August 15th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English