Two Targums of Esther (Aramaic Bible #18) (Hardcover)

Two Targums of Esther (Aramaic Bible #18) Cover Image
By Bernard Grossfield (Translator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


What is called the Magillat Esther (Scroll of Esther") is part of the biblical group of books in the Hagiographa known as the "Five Megillot" designating Esther, the Scrolls of Canticles, Ruth, Lamentations, and Ecclesiastes. These five scrolls play an integral part in Jewish liturgy next to the Pentateuch; and yet Esther (as well as others of these five) had difficulty being included in the Hebrew canon as sacred Scripture.

Professor Grossfeld provides a straightforward, idiomatic translation of the original Aramaic for the Targum Rishon and the Targum Sheni, with comments on the so-called Third Esther Targum.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780814654545
ISBN-10: 0814654541
Publisher: Michael Glazier Books
Publication Date: December 1st, 1991
Pages: 225
Language: English
Series: Aramaic Bible